▼ Hide quoted text
4.    KM Munshi meeting with Sri Aurobindo
“As you may know, Sri Aurobindo was my professor in the Baroda College, and his militant nationalism of 1904 moulded my early outlook. Later, I casually read some of his works. During the last few years, however, his influence has been coming over upon me intermittently, but, more and more perceptibly I have felt benefited by it. Often in the past I wanted to go to Pondicherry, but I did not wish to offer formal respects to a man whom I revered so deeply. In July 1950, however, I felt an urge to visit the Ashram. Normally, as you know, Sri Aurobindo would not see people, except on the days in the year. But in my case, he told the Secretary, he treated me as a disciple and would make an exception. “When I visited him, after the lapse of more than forty years, I saw before me a being completely transformed, radiant, blissful, enveloped in an atmosphere of godlike calm.” He writes:

“The other day I had the rare privilege of meeting Sri Aurobindo. I had seen him last in 1908 at Bombay. Now, however, I saw something different; the most beautiful old age imaginable in an atmosphere of inspiring serenity. He sat enthroned on an upholstered chair with a quiet, unaggressive dignity. His thin white beard and well-brushed, long hair framed a radiant face which bore me down with the unfamiliar weight of veneration. A deep light of knowledge and wisdom shone in his eyes. The wide calm of the Spirit appeared to have converted the whole personality into a radiant Presence, not that of a thunder-wielding Jove but of one who shone with the light of Consciousness.

“It was neither my old Professor whom I admired from a distance, nor the seer from whose teachings I had profited at several periods of my life. It was a being complete in himself. In my works, I have written about integrated personality. I have seen it in a vision. I have described it in fiction. I sensed it in the titanic efforts of Gandhiji to realise Truth and Nonviolence. But this was absolute integration of personality; attachment, wrath and fear had been transmuted into a power which was at the same time beautiful and calm; the Central Idea in Aryan culture materialised in human shape. When, in our objectives I mentioned Sri Aurobindo as one of the great architects of creative life, it was an estimate; at that moment in Pondicherry, I saw, I felt, he was.” He is.
Munshi also has given a very brief account of the interview. “He spoke in a low, clear voice, which stirred the depths of my being. “I talked of my spiritual needs. I said: ‘I am at a dead end. The world is too much with me.’
“The Sage replied: ‘You need not give up the world in order to advance in self-realization. But you cannot advance by impatience. I wrote to you that I would help you, and in my own way I am helping you…. You have the urge and the light. Go your own way. Do not be deflected from the faith in your natural evolution. I will watch over your progress.’
“Then we discussed Indian culture, its present crisis, even the Hindu Code. When I said: ‘The younger generation is being fed on theories and beliefs which are undermining the higher life of India,’ Sri Aurobindo replied: ‘You must overcome this lack of faith. Rest assured that our culture cannot be undermined. This is only a passing phase.’
“Then he sprang a surprise on me. ‘When do you expect India to be united?’ he asked.
“I was taken aback. I explained to him how our leaders had agreed to partition. ‘So long as the present generation of politicians is concerned, I cannot think of any time when the two countries — India and Pakistan —can be united.’
“The Master smiled. ‘India will be re-united. I see it clearly.’ Was it an opinion? Was it a prophecy? Or was it clear perception ?
“I shook my head in doubt and asked how India could be re-united. In two short sentences he described what Pakistan stood for and indicated how the two countries could come together.”
What does Pakistan stand for?
Pakistan has been created by falsehood, fraud and force. It must be brought under India’s military ambit”

Leave a Reply

